Sam Bird records first ever British Formula E win in Malaysia

Sam Bird records first ever British Formula E win in Malaysia


Last weekend, the UK’s Sam Bird won the second race of the Formula E season in Putrajaya, Malaysia ahead of championship-leader Lucas di Grassi and Sebastien Buemi.

The Virgin Racing driver built up a healthy lead and cruised to victory to pick up the full 25-points.

Bird said: “The weekend went really well, we were quick from the first outing and we were quickest in practice. Qualifying didn’t quite go our way as I think we were not in the best group for doing a fast lap time but we put that right in the race.

“The first stint I was able to get a very good gap which meant we could take it easy and not make any silly mistakes, do some lift and coasting, and coast to the finish. I have to dedicate this win to a good friend of mine who is very ill. It’s very sad what’s happened to him and this one is for Jules.”

sam bird wins formula e

Audi Sport ABT driver Lucas di Grassi and e.dams-Renault’s Sebastien Buemi both managed to fight their way through the field to stand on the podium despite starting at the back of the grid.

Di Grassi said: “For sure this was beyond my expectations. Everyone is here to win, everyone is pushing to the limit as this track has proven once and for all this car is very tricky to drive even if you have done all the testing. The tiniest margin can ruin your whole weekend and that’s what happened in qualifying from my side and then to come all the way from the back of the grid on a street track to second is an amazing feeling. I felt I had a much better race than in Beijing where I won.”

Bird’s win means he moves up to second place in the Formula E championship standings just three points behind Beijing race-winner di Grassi.

Putrajaya ePrix results:
1. Sam Bird, Virgin Racing
2. Lucas di Grassi, Audi Sport ABT
3. Sebastien Buemi, e.dams-Renault
4. Nicolas Prost, e.dams-Renault
5. Jerome d’Ambrosio, Dragon Racing
6. Karun Chandhok, Mahindra Racing
7. Oriol Servia, Dragon Racing
8. Antonio Felix da Costa, Amlin Aguri
9. Jaime Alguersuari, Virgin Racing
10. Daniel Abt, Audi Sport ABT

Formula E