ScotRail to install 100 new EV charge points at stations

ScotRail to install 100 new EV charge points at stations


The ScotRail Alliance has announced that it will install 50 new dual EV charge points, giving customers parking at the rail network’s stations 100 new charging spaces to choose from.

Work will begin in September this year, with a dual charge unit at 50 of ScotRail’s 359 stations to be installed. The rail company expects the charge points to be ready to use from November.

Current plans are that the charge points will be free to use on the ChargePlace Scotland network, though drivers parking at the charging spaces will still need to pay any relevant parking charges.

The ScotRail Alliance’s programmes and transformation director, Ian McConnell, said: “As a low-carbon transport provider, we are always looking for new ways to encourage more environmentally-friendly travel.

“Through the installation of these 100 electric car parking spaces, we hope to reduce our customers’ carbon footprint from door-to-door. We have big plans to improve our car parks, and this is just one of the many improvements we have planned for the next 12 months.”

Once operational, the points will be added to Zap-Map, and made easier to find by using the ChargePlace Scotland filter on Zap-Map. A list of stations set to get the new charge points is below.

  • Aberdeen
  • Airdrie
  • Arbroath
  • Armadale
  • Ayr
  • Bathgate
  • Bridge of Allan
  • Cardross
  • Cumbernauld
  • Cupar
  • Curriehill
  • Dalmeny
  • Dalry
  • Drem
  • Dumfries
  • Dunbar
  • Dyce
  • East Kilbride
  • Easterhouse
  • Falkirk High
  • Gleneagles
  • Glengarnock
  • Girvan
  • Gourock
  • Greenock
  • Gretna Green
  • Helensburgh Central
  • Inverness
  • Johnstone
  • Kilmarnock
  • Lanark
  • Lenzie
  • Linlithgow
  • Longniddry
  • Montrose
  • Musselburgh
  • Newcraighall
  • Oban
  • Patterton
  • Perth
  • Pitlochry
  • South Gyle
  • Stirling
  • Troon
  • Uddingston
  • Uphall
  • Wallyford
  • Wemyss Bay
  • Wester Hailes
  • Wick